Transylvania Vintage-Gothic Style Handcrafted (Altered) Book

Who can resist a great looking book, went “Dracula” style with this one!  I love Halloween and finding fun, unique, one of a kind décor! And sometimes that’s hard to find, so I was inspired to start making my own. Each altered book is a “one of a kind”. I love making these and I take a lot of pride in preparing all the bits and pieces carefully with quality materials.

Altered Book

Altered Book

This book is stained and painted with various acrylics and Tim Holtz Distress stains and paints and then covered with grungeboard which has been prepped with distress inks/stains and then various papers are embellishments are applied including a wax seal for that old world feel. I’ve added a brass hardware hinge and other jewelry (chain, key, cross) The book is sealed shut (not intended to be opened) includes 5 pull out handmade cards.

Handmade Tags

Handmade Tags

The are decorated as well on the back – all of the cards are handmade as well. The tag can be pulled directly out of the book and used as a bookmark for your own favorite book! The books I used are all old books and I’ve given them a re-purpose (aka upcycling). Makes for a great conversational piece and will look great on a mantel above a fireplace or on a bookshelf or in a haunted house!  This is my kind of “old-world” realistic décor!

Back/side of book

Back/side of book

20151019_150432

Leave a comment